Orange City Council votes to pass Emergency Ordinance to require masks
Orange City Mask Ordinance Update: On Friday, September 25, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 20-244 placing Florida in Phase 3 of the State’s reopening plan. Following the guidance provided in the Executive Order, the City of Orange City will not issue any fines to individuals related to non-compliance with the local mask ordinance that is still in effect. Prior to this guidance, no penalties had been issued for not wearing masks.
Business owners – Flier to display in Business
The City Council voted Monday, July 6, to approve Ordinance no. 632 effective 12:01 a.m. on Tuesday, July 7, to require residents and visitors wear masks in indoor public spaces.
On August 25, the City Council voted to approve Ordinance no. 633, which re-enacts Ord. 632, effective at 12:01 a.m. on Wednesday, August 26, 2020.
On October 13, the City Council voted to approve Ordinance no. 638 which re-enacts Ordinance no. 633, effective Wednesday, October 14, 2020,
On December 8, the City Council voted to approve Ordinance No. 640 which re-enacts Ordinance 633, effective Wednesday, December 9.
and shall remain in effect until the earlier of the date on which any of the following occurs:
- The state of emergency related to COVID-19 declared by the Governor of Florida expires; or
- The County of Volusia issues a uniform, county-wide, ordinance, resolution or other order regulating face coverings; or
- The City Commission rescinds this Emergency Ordinance; or
- This Ordinance automatically repeals as per Section 5.04 of the City of Orange City Charter.
There are exceptions to the ordinance:
- A child under the age of two.
- Persons who have trouble breathing due to a chronic pre-existing condition or individuals with a documented or demonstrable medical problem. It is the intent of this provision that those individuals who cannot tolerate a facial covering for a medical, sensory or any other condition which makes it difficult for them to utilize a face covering and function in public are not required to wear one.
- Public safety, fire, and other life safety and health care personnel, as their personal protective equipment requirements will be governed by their respective agencies.
- Persons exercising while observing at least 6 feet of distancing from another person.
- Restaurant and bar patrons while eating or drinking. It is the intent of this provision that a face covering will be worn while traversing a business establishment for ingress and egress, to use the restroom facilities, and while otherwise standing when persons are unable to maintain at least 6 feet of distancing.
- Business owners, managers, and employees who are in an area of a business establishment that is not open to customers, patrons, or the public, provided that 6 feet of distance exists between persons. This exception does not apply to employees who are present in the kitchen or other food and beverage preparation area of a business establishment.
- Medical, dental or other health care facilities or offices, as mask wearing in those facilities will be regulated pursuant to guidance specifically directed to those particular facilities.
- Persons who are separated from any other person by means of barriers such as plastic face shields, plastic or glass barriers, or other devices that effectively prevent the transmission of the COVID-19 virus.
- A person in a lodging establishment who is inside of the lodging unit, including but not limited to, a hotel room, motel room, vacation rental unit, timeshare unit, or similar unit.
- Any person in a school, regardless of whether public or private, as mask wearing in schools will be regulated by the schools.
- Persons in a house of worship while observing at least 6 feet of distancing from another person.
Those in violation of the ordinance could be subject to a fine through a civil citation. Prior to the issuance of a citation, the individual will be asked to comply with the ordinance or explain how an exception applies to them. The intent of this ordinance is meant to protect our public health not to be used as a fine mechanism.
A first offense would be punishable by a $25 fine, $50 for a second offense and $100 for every offense thereafter.